Majors championship was all Ladysmith

Majors championship was all Ladysmith

This year’s Tri-County Majors championship game that took place last Tuesday night at the Fairgrounds in Ladysmith was between the Ladysmith  Grey team vs the Ladysmith Purple in what turned out to be a fun event for all those in attendance.

In the top of the first, purple pitcher, Laine Gerber faced the first four batters as he didn’t give up a run before the purple team went on the offensive in the bottom of the first scoring five runs to take the early 5-0 lead.

The grey team cut in to the lead though in the second inning scoring four runs to bring the score to 5-4 in the purple team’s favor, but they scored one more run in the bottom of the second to stretch their lead back to 6-4.

The grey team tied the game in the third inning scoring two runs as the score was 6-6.

That was all the grey team would go on to score as the purple team added nine more runs to take home the 15-6 victory over the grey. Lane Gerber and Jaxen Donohue both pitched three innings in the win to help the purple team finish out a perfect season. Dane Prohaska finished the night 2 for 4 at the plate, Donohue finished 2 for 3 as well for the purple. “Tuesday nights championship was a good game and was tied at 6-6 after 3 innings. Both teams have a talented and determined bunch of kids that will be exciting to watch as they get older and play together as one Ladysmith team,” stated Ladysmith purple head coach, Neil Donohue.

Ladysmith Grey is a very well coached team and did not give up when they got in a hole early and fought back to tie us up at 6 in the third inning.

For the grey team it was Timmy Meltz finishing 3 for 3.

The purple team went on to a championship as members of the team were Dane Prohaska, Manny Moore, Jaxen Donohue, Laine Gerber, Jack Summerfield, Cole Strop, Beau Harvey, Gavin Stewart, Liam Sikora, Ashton Clark, Owen Stibak and Brody Burmeister.

The second place grey team for this year’s Tri-County league was made up of Braedan Little, Evan Loe, Douglas Stevens, Kaden Becker, Elias Mikunda, Timmy Meltz, Trent Nelson, Nate Nelson, Charlie Zimmer, Gavin Boermer and Connor Ptacek.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.